How to Make the Ugliest, Easiest Breakfast Muffins Ever

Bloggers have this way of staging their life through stunning pictures and carefully chosen words. To anyone reading their blog, life must seem perfect – like they have beautiful cliffside vistas and candlelight garden parties and perfect cookies around them – all of the time.

Well, if the picture of my egg muffins proves anything, it’s that this perfect blogger facade is just not real, folks. Because those muffins are ugly as hell. When I first opened up the oven, the eggs were exploding out of the muffin tray in a grotesque way that made my boyfriend say, “They look like monsters trying to grab us!”  Uh… not exactly the impression I wanted my muffins to make.

But the real point is – who cares? They taste DELICIOUS, they’re healthy, and they are a super fast way to make breakfast for the whole week. Even ugly muffins can kick ass.

As a note, please play with this recipe and try things to your liking. I was originally led to make this recipe through the paleo egg muffins on Multiply Delicious, but I ended up changing it so much to suit my own tastes that I wanted to share this version with you. For instance, even though bacon isn’t the healthiest recipe addition, I had to include some because it has the most heavenly taste on the planet. Enough said. Also, I included the brands that I use from Whole Foods in the recipe, but please feel free to change it up based on your budget or health restrictions.

Recipe for the Best Ugly Egg Muffins You’ll Ever Have:

10-12 pasteurized eggs

1/8 cup Wellshire bacon bits (all-natural & no antibiotics) – Add more or less to taste

1/8 cup 365 Feta cheese crumbles with pepper – Add more or less to taste

1/2 cup red or orange bell pepper, diced

1/2 heaping cup fresh spinach, chopped

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Use a non-stick, 12-cup muffin pan.

In a medium bowl, combine bacon bits, bell pepper, feta cheese, and spinach. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, salt, and pepper.  Add egg mixture with the other bowl, and stir to combine.

Using a measuring cup, fill muffin cups with egg mixture. Make sure not to fill cups to the rim, or they will look like exploding monsters.  Use 1/4 to 1/3 cup in each cup depending on how many muffins you want to make.

Bake the egg muffins for 15 to 25 minutes or until eggs are set in the middle. Mine took 15 minutes. The time ranges based on specific ovens, so you’ll just have to check it.

Makes about 10 to 14 muffins.  Muffins can be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 4 days.

~

I hope that you enjoy this delicious & super easy breakfast! It’s a great, well-balanced meal for an on-the-go morning to take with you out the door. And remember – the muffins aren’t ugly, they just have character! 😉

Have an amazing day,

xo Caylee

 

6 thoughts on “How to Make the Ugliest, Easiest Breakfast Muffins Ever

  1. I’m so making these! I feel the same way about cooking as you do about painting…and this blog makes me feel like I can make those ugly muffins taste delicious, too. Of course, I’ll have to google a tutorial on how to chop a bell pepper first.. 😉 But bacon bits and feta cheese? I’m tryin’ it!

    • Thanks for checking out my blog, Connie! The muffins are super easy to make… I’m sure your girls will enjoy them. Let me know what you think of their taste 🙂

Leave a Comment!

