Energize Your Day in Four Simple Steps

For the past few years of my life, everyday when 3:00 PM rolled around I would get a massive headache. It didn’t matter if I was in a college class, chatting with a friend, or working at the office – if it was midafternoon, you could find me catatonic with my head pounding and desperately needing an energy boost. Work always came to an unproductive standstill, and I was so exhausted that I basically slept with my eyes open. My brain screamed, “COFFEE! COFFEE! I. NEED. COFFEE.”  You guys, that is what an addict sounds like.

 

To be honest, my previous habits made me feel like total crap everyday, but I couldn’t seem to shake them. I put off altering my negative lifestyle for almost a year, because my boyfriend and I loved going out to eat in Miami at delicious restaurants (with even more delicious cocktails) almost every night. It’s really hard to change when you’re having so much fun doing the things that make you unhealthy. Trust me, I understand your pain! But as I saw my energy levels plummet even more, along with my mood dipping to a depressed low point, I knew I finally had to get down to business in making myself feel good again. Along with my boyfriend also having health issues from all of our unhealthy habits, it became clear to me that our lifestyle needed to change immediately.

 

Where I used to eat a bunch of salty, frozen processed foods or fat-laden meats at restaurants, now I like to make homemade meals with fresh produce. On a normal day, I will try to eat at least two types of fruit and four types of vegetables. Except as a treat here and there, I’ve stopped drinking coffee… Shocking, right?! This is not because I have anything against coffee now – it’s just that with my lifestyle change I don’t need caffeine in order to stay awake anymore. It’s a miracle! I also avoid added sweeteners, heavy meats like beef and pork, and white bread. I’m not strict with my meal plan, or withholding in any way, but I’ve found that I truly want to keep eating like this because it makes me feel so much more energized and happy. For a person like me who always felt sluggish, to feel healthy and vibrant is an amazing thing.

 

If you find yourself feeling sluggish during the work day and need a healthy pick-me-up, here are some easy lifestyle changes you can incorporate into your routine for a coffeeless energy boost:

 

 

Do you have any other energy boosting tips? Let us know in the comments below, and please feel free to share this post with your friends!

 

Hope you have a vibrant day,
xo Caylee

 

2 thoughts on “Energize Your Day in Four Simple Steps

Leave a Comment!

